Painesville City Local Schools

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Educational Foundation

OFFICERS (through February 7, 2022)
Scott Cummings, President
Annette Zahradnik, Vice-President
Karen Grippi, Treasurer
Kathleen Obrenski, Secretary

Established in 1996, the Painesville City Local Schools (PCLS) Educational Foundation has helped PCLS teachers enhance student learning by providing grants to develop creative and unique academic projects that cannot be funded through the district’s general fund. On average, the Foundation grants $8,000 annually to support these engaging projects. Over the past decade, $60,500 has been given to support innovative programs designed to augment the curriculum and provide enrichment for students. Grants are given twice a year.

Funding for the Foundation comes from a variety of sources, including private donations and annual fundraisers, such as auctions and the golf outing. The Foundation is also grateful for the generosity of its corporate sponsors who purchase advertising space on the signboard located in Harvey High School’s gym. These include  Consolidated Investments, Harvey Red Raider Boosters, Allstate Cicconetti Insurance, Painesville Credit Union, STP, Lubrizol, Painesville Municipal Electric, Pollutro Rossley Insurance, ComDoc and the Painesville Community Improvement Corporation. The Educational Foundation is a 501 (c)3 organization. Charitable contributions are tax-deductible.

The Foundation is administered by community volunteers and friends of the Painesville City Local Schools. Additional information on how you can become a trustee or support the work of the Foundation can be obtained by contacting the PCLS Educational Foundation at [email protected].

Would you like to become a member of the Educational Foundation?
The Educational Foundation is always seeking new members and new ideas to enhance the work we do to support our schools and our students. If you are interested in becoming a member of the Education Foundation, contact Scott Cummings at [email protected].
If you would like to make a contribution to the Educational Foundation,
please send your tax-deductible donation to:
Painesville City Local Schools Educational Foundation
58 Jefferson Street
Painesville, Ohio 44077
Below you can view and download the PCLS Educational Foundation Bylaws & Regulations and Grant Application for 2022-23.
Grant Application deadlines are April 1, 2022 and October 16, 2022.
Manon Grugel-Watson
Dave Pierce
Tony Gagliardi
Wendy Camper (non-voting)
The Painesville Educational Foundation provides financial assistance to teachers to implement challenging, innovative academic projects for students in the Painesville City Local Schools. Grants are given to successful applicants twice each year.
The document below contains a list of the grant recipients and the projects funded over the past few years.
Shop at Amazon Smile and Help Fund Grants for the PCLS Educational Foundation
Amazon Smile is a program that benefits charitable organizations and our own PCLS Educational Foundation is on the list . Shopper who purchase items through Amazon Smile can select our Educational Foundation and 0.5% of their purchase will be sent to Educational Foundation with no strings attached.

There is no cap on the amount Amazon will donate and almost every physical product sold by the company is eligible, which means tens of millions of items. (Digital goods are not included at this time.)

Simply go to Amazon, type in Amazon Smile in the search area and select the Painesville City Local School Educational Foundation as your charity of choice. The site will remember you each time you return to shop.

Or just follow this link at Amazon Smile to sign up to help our Educational Foundation.

Happy shopping and thanks for helping our Educational Foundation help you and the students in our district.
Grant Application Deadlines:
April 1, 2022
October 18, 2022 
2022 Meetings
April 19 - Grant Committee Mtg
April 26 - General Mtg
September 6 - General Mtg
October 25 - Grant Committee Mtg
November 8 - General Mtg
February 7 - Election of Officers